Minnesota Youth Reading Awards

MYRA's Mission

It is Minnesota Youth Reading Awards' purpose to administer yearly "read and vote" awards programs, providing nominee titles that offer opportunities for Minnesota youth to see themselves and others in the pages, to make new connections, and to engage and enjoy the world of reading. Get in touch with us by using our contact form or email info@myrahome.org

What We Do

  • Celebrate reading through nominating high-quality youth literature each year
  • Circulate resources regarding our nominees
  • Represent literacy educators and librarians at regional conferences and events
  • Encourage media specialists, librarians, teachers and public librarians to engage with Minnesota readers and the MYRA awards
  • Facilitate the only student-chosen book award in the state of Minnesota
  • Plan and host two major events each year - our spring winning nominee and reveal celebration and our fall winning author/illustrator(s) celebration

Our Awards

MYRA currently has two awards for young readers in Minnesota.

Maud Hart Lovelace

Named to honor the classic children's author Maud Hart Lovelace, the MHL award has two divisions. Division I focuses on grades 3-5 and Division II focuses on grades 6-8. Nominees must be works of fiction and not classified as a picture book. Read more →

Star of the North

The SOTN award promotes quality and engaging picture books for our young readers in Minnesota. This award focuses on grades Kindergarten, 1st grade and 2nd grade. Parents, educators and librarians are encouraged to read these nominees with their young readers. Read more →

Current MYRA Board of Directors

MYRA board members are charged with facilitating and organizing all activities of Minnesota Youth Reading Awards, Inc. If you are interested in becoming part of our team or are inquiring about nonprofit documents, please email president@myrahome.org

President: Josh Jackson (president@myrahome.org)

Treasurer: Anne LaLonde Laux (treasurer@myrahome.org)

Secretary: Marta Johnson (secretary@myrahome.org)

Authors and Awards: Katherine Warde (authorsawards@myrahome.org)

​Events: Amy Oelkers (events@myrahome.org)

Membership: Kelly Iverson-Egge (membership@myrahome.org)

Promotions: -vacant- (promotions@myrahome.org)

Maud Hart Selection: Anna Zbacnik (mhl@myrahome.org)

Public Library Liaison: -vacant- (library@myrahome.org)

Social Media: Ann Wahlstrom (media@myrahome.org)

Star of the North Selection: Laura Given (sotn@myrahome.org)

Voting: Kari Healy (voting@myrahome.org)

Webmaster: Megan Stebbins (webmaster@myrahome.org)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software